Partnership District Award Winners - 2010

Nine districts are winners of 2010 Partnership District Awards from the National Network of Partnership Schools (NNPS) at Johns Hopkins University. They are recognized for excellence in organizing their leadership on partnerships and for helping schools develop comprehensive, goal-oriented programs of school, family, and community partnerships. The award winners are working to ensure that all families are welcome in all schools. District leaders also guide schools to develop programs with practices of family and community involvement help increase student achievement and other indicators of success in school.

District leaders for partnerships submitted descriptions of district-level leadership activities that increased awareness of family and community involvement, aligned actions for partnerships with other district policies for school improvement, and extended leadership for partnerships in other ways. They also submitted evidence of how they directly facilitate schools’ Action Teams for Partnerships (ATPs) to strengthen school-based programs of family and community involvement. The activities are included in their Leadership Action Plans for Partnerships (also submitted). Guidelines for district leaders are found in School, Family, and Community Partnerships: Your Handbook for Action, Third Edition (2009, Corwin Press). The district leaders’ work shows how leadership, teamwork, written plans, facilitated action, funding, evaluations, support from colleagues, and networking helped them meet challenges and improve the quality of their work on partnerships. Some of the district-level activities are included in the NNPS collection, Promising Partnership Practices 2010.


*Calcasieu Parish School System , Lake Charles, LA

Loree L. Smith, Federal Programs Coordinator and Key Contact to NNPS
Wayne Savoy, Superintendent


*Chino Valley Unified School System, CA

Carol Garman, Title I EL Program Specialist
Dr. Wayne Joseph, Superintendent


Fort Worth Independent School District, TX

Stephanie Jackson, Director of Parent Engagement
Dr. Melody Johnson, Superintendent


**Francis Howell School District, MO

Mary Jo Griffin, Director, Early Childhood and Family & Community Involvement
Dr. Reneé Schuster, Superintendent


Hampton City Schools-Title I Department, VA

Chanda J. Epps, Title I Coordinator of Parent Involvement
Dr. Patrick Russo, Superintendent


**Kennewick School District, WA

Sarah Del Toro, Parent Involvement Coordinator
Mary Pruitt, Federal Programs Director
Dave Bond, Superintendent


Naperville Community Unit School District 203, IL

Nina Menis, Former Director, Office of Community Relations
Dr. Mark Mitrovich, Superintendent


**Pasco School District, WA

Lorraine Landon, Parent Education Center Coordinator
Jessica Wallace, Parent Partnership & Pre-K Outreach Coordinator
Saundra Hill, Superintendent


Seattle Public Schools, WA

Bernardo Ruiz, Family and Community Engagement Manager
Dr. Maria L. Goodlow-Johnson, Superintendent